Successfully navigate the legal process and
stand up to the insurance companies
Statute of Limitations
There is a time frame in Washington State in which you have to file your lawsuit through the courts. This is called a statute of limitations, and the limit is 3 years. After that time, you can be barred from any compensation. It is almost a certainty that your case will be thrown out if you do not file within the 3 years, so do not hesitate to file your claim.
There are cases where the person who is injured is also partially at fault for their injuries. In this situation, as opposed to having the case dismissed completely, the judge or jury can rule that the injured party is at fault for a certain percentage of the injuries. So, if the award is $100,000, and the injured part is judged to be 10% at fault, then the award will be $90,000.
Dog Bites and Attacks
In Washington State, a dog owner is responsible for the behavior of their animal, and any injury it might cause. This is the case whether or not the owner was aware that the dog might be dangerous. Some states allow for leniency if the dog had never exhibited aggressive behavior before, but that’s not the case in Washington State.
There is no cap on the compensation you can receive for many types of injury cases. There are states who place caps on awards, but in Washington, such limits were deemed unconstitutional.
You may find yourself in a situation where you are filing a claim directly against a state government entity or employee. You should be aware that there are special regulations and guidelines for such a situation. You first have to file a formal notice of complaint, and then you cannot file your claim with the courts until 60 days after that complaint is made. Of course, this all must be done within the 3 year statute of limitations.